107 Steele Avenue
Hope, ND 58046 
TTY  1-800-366-6888

Hope Development Corporation
The Hope Economic Development Corporation strives to promote economic growth within the City of Hope. Members of the EDC work to improve quality of life and expand community development. A strategic plan was developed to identify community goals and ways to achieve them. Hope Strategic Plan

President: Kevin McCullough
Vice President: Keith Ihry
Treasurer/Secretary: Nick Brendemuhl
Members: Chris Visby, Scott Erickson, Dawn Flaten, Heather Jacobsen

Griggs-Steele Empowerment Zone
Lake Agassiz Regional Council
USDA Rural Development
Steele County JDA  

The Hope Development Corporation is seeking a new leaseholder to manage/operate the Hope Café located at 209 Steele Avenue, Hope ND 58046. 

Responsible, business-minded person sought to run a successful, profit-making community café. The Hope Development Corporation owns the building and all the equipment within the building. The café is centrally located to all other businesses in Hope. This is great opportunity to live and run a very nice business in a friendly small town. Serious inquiries only, please. Potential opportunity to manage/operate adjoined grocery store.

Café Positives:
125+ Seating Capacity
Established Business
Located In Newer Building Only 6 Years Old – Adjoined to Grocery Store & Senior Citizens Center
All Equipment Included In Lease
April 1, 2018, Available Start Date (or earlier upon request)
Current Hours of Operation
    o Monday – Friday 7 am – 4 pm and Saturday’s 7 am- 2 pm 
    o Potential availability of limited liquor license.

Motivated, Business Minded, Friendly Person To Operate Small Town Cafe
References Required 
Security Deposit
Lessee Responsible For Rent + Utilities
Must Pass Background Check

For more details contact:
Heather Jacobsen (Board Member)
Office Phone: 701-945-2723
Monday – Friday (8:30 – 4:00)

Steele County Property Appraisals - VANGUARD UPDATE: (December 21, 2017)

Vanguard reps are done with the residential data collection at this time. They will return back in the Spring of 2018 to start on Commercial property data collection and finish up the last few Residential property stragglers. BUT, as of now, they are done with their data collection for a couple months. The basic timeline is as follows:

  • Spring of 2018: Commercial/Industrial/Grain Elevators will have data collectors come out and ask to see the property/tour the property/do data collections

  • Early Fall of 2018: Review teams come out and go over each parcel of property (will review from the road, will not be asking for entry into properties) to do their quality assurance/control

  • Feb 1, 2019: valuations will be available for review for residents, township boards of equalization, etc

Thank you ALL for your understanding throughout this process. More to come at a later date, but have a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS and HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!!!

Please contact Ben Gates with any questions.